California! You were so good to me.

So good that I want to move from my rainy state to your sunshine state.

San Francisco has my heart, but Sacramento is looking nice. 

California will always have a special place in my heart. Every time I come here, a flood of nostalgia washes over me. I can remember the many Christmases spent here with mi familia and being scared to walk out in my aunt’s yard because of the evil chihuahua who lived outside in his igloo home.

I can remember the times we played outside with our cousins and we would hear my older cousin playing the drums as loud as she could while her younger sister would say to me and my sister “esta loca”.

I can remember my 10 year old self being introduced to Hot Cheetos. The best time of my life. My cousins would just walk around the corner to el mercado and go crazy for the spicy chips. 

80’s music blasting in the car on our road trips to see familia in California was everything. From Bryan Adam’s Summer of ’69 to REO Speedwagons’ Keep on Loving You.

California gives me a true blast to the past feeling and I love it because it reminds me of the happier simplest times of my childhood.

